Tom Knox: “Cagot”, Claudia Weiss: “Schandweib”

Customer: Hoffmann und Campe

Illustration: Enhanced e-books (Hoffmann und Campe)

Hoffmann und Campe is a Hamburg trade publisher in Germany that handles books by young writers as well as literary works by renowned authors.

Making content interactively available does not necessarily require apps. Interactive, multimedia EPUBs (enhanced EPUBs) are cheaper to produce, and consumers accept higher prices for e-books than for apps.

For Hoffmann und Campe, the EPUBs were enhanced by video clips, slide shows, image maps, explanatory pop-ups, picture galleries, and historic/current maps with seamless cross-fading. Further solutions exist, e.g. for flashcards or tabular display on small screens, which are primarily of interest to educational, technical, and scientific publishers.

Since 2008, le-tex has supported numerous publishers with the conversion of typesetting data to EPUB and Kindle format. As a member of the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF), le-tex plays an active role in the development of the EPUB3 standard.

“le-tex impressed us with solutions for EPUB format, which we had only realized in apps up till that point. Understanding of conceptual relationships, innovative technical implementation, exceptionally good advice, and motivated employees make le-tex a partner to be recommended.”

Stephan Born, Production Editing Manager, Hoffmann und Campe Verlag

Tom Knox: „Cagot“, Claudia Weiss: „Schandweib“

Illustration: Enhanced E-Books (Hoffmann und Campe)

Hoffmann und Campe ist ein Hamburger Publikumsverlag, der literarische Werke renommierter Autoren ebenso fördert wie Bücher von jungen Schriftstellern.

Es müssen nicht immer Apps sein, wenn Inhalte interaktiv erfahrbar gemacht werden sollen. Interaktive, multimediale EPUBs (enhanced EPUBs) sind kostengünstiger zu produzieren, und Endkunden akzeptieren außerdem für E-Books höhere Preise als für Apps.

Für Hoffmann und Campe wurden die EPUBs durch Videoclips, Slideshows, Imagemaps, erläuternde Pop-Ups, Bildgalerien und historische/aktuelle Karten mit stufenloser Überblendung aufgewertet. Weitere Lösungen existieren z. B. für Lernkarteien oder die Tabellendarstellung auf kleinen Bildschirmen, was vor allem für Bildungs-, Fach- und Wissenschaftsverlage interessant ist.

le-tex unterstützt seit 2008 zahlreiche Verlage bei der Konvertierung von Satzdaten nach EPUB und in das Kindle-Format. Als Mitglied des International Digital Publishing Forums (IDPF) hat sich le-tex aktiv an der Entwicklung des EPUB3-Standards beteiligt.

„le-tex überzeugte uns mit Lösungen für das EPUB-Format, die wir bis dahin nur in Apps realisiert hatten. Verständnis für konzeptionelle Zusammenhänge, Innovation in der technischen Umsetzung, außergewöhnlich gute Beratung und motivierte Mitarbeiter machen le-tex zu einem empfehlenswerten Partner.“

Stephan Born, Herstellungsleiter, Hoffmann und Campe Verlag (2011)