InDesign–XML–EPUB workflow with le-tex transpect

Customer: Hogrefe

Illustration: transpect (Hogrefe)

Hogrefe is a leading psychology publisher based in Göttingen in Germany with subsidiaries in many European countries.

The two key goals of Hogrefe’s new XML workflow for book production are to produce electronic products at the same time as the print products and to maintain XML data that is compatible with the NLM / JATS industry standard. The continued high commercial importance of printed books is taken into account by the fact that the books are still mostly typeset in InDesign. For acceptance reasons, the company did not want any changes made to the classic author proof based on a first pagination. This condition, combined with the relatively high complexity of the XMLs and the layout requirements, makes an XML first workflow with InDesign seem very problematic.

However, subsequent conversion is not without its problems either. The solution is firstly to define style sheet names and other conventions across all series, and then run an intensive automatic check after each conversion step to detect unanchored images, impermissible styles and uncited references, as well as more subtle aspects such as inadequate markup of tables that span more than one page, table cell splits or table footnotes. The solution is a subsequent conversion process, therefore, but with extremely detailed checks and error correction by the typesetter before print approval.

“The le-tex converter allows us to continue working with trusted typesetters and retain many proven workflows. It not only generates e-products, but also enhances the quality of the print products thanks to the many checks and the integrated CrossRef DOI lookup, while keeping the additional typesetting costs manageable. It also means that we are equipped for the future, e. g. for purely electronic products.”

Jürgen Schneider, Head of Production Editing, Hogrefe Verlag (2013)

InDesign-XML-EPUB-Workflow mit le-tex transpect

Kunde: Hogrefe

Illustration: transpect (Hogrefe)

Hogrefe ist ein führendes Verlagsunternehmen im Bereich Psychologie mit Hauptsitz in Göttingen und Tochterunternehmen in vielen Ländern Europas.

Elektronische Produkte zeitgleich mit den Printprodukten herzustellen und XML-Daten vorzuhalten, die kompatibel mit dem Industriestandard NLM / JATS sind – dies sind zwei Hauptziele des neuen XML-Workflows für die Buchproduktion bei Hogrefe. Der kommerziell nach wie vor hohen Bedeutung des gedruckten Buches wird dadurch Rechnung getragen, dass die Bücher weiterhin zumeist in InDesign gesetzt werden. Am klassischen Autor-Proof auf Basis eines ersten Umbruchs sollte aus Akzeptanzgründen ebenfalls nichts geändert werden. Dieser Umstand, in Verbindung mit der relativ hohen Komplexität des XMLs und den Anforderungen ans Layout, lässt einen XML-first-Workflow mit InDesign sehr problematisch erscheinen.

Nachträgliche Konvertierung jedoch ist ebenfalls nicht unproblematisch. Die durch le-tex entwickelte Lösung besteht darin, zunächst einmal reihenübergreifend Formatvorlagennamen und sonstige Konventionen festzulegen und dann nach jedem Konvertierschritt intensiv und automatisch zu prüfen – auf unverankerte Bilder, unzulässige Formate, unreferenzierte Literatur, aber auch subtilere Dinge wie nicht adäquat gekennzeichnete Tabellenfortsetzungen, Tabellenzellen-Splits oder Tabellenfußnoten. Man hat hier also nachträgliche Konvertierung, aber mit außergewöhnlich detaillierten Kontrollen und mit Fehlerbehebung durch den Satzbetrieb noch vor Druckfreigabe.

„Der Konverter von le-tex erlaubt uns, mit erprobten Satzbetrieben weiterzuarbeiten und viele bewährte Abläufe beizubehalten. Er erzeugt nicht nur E-Produkte, sondern erhöht durch die vielen Prüfungen und den integrierten CrossRef-DOI-Lookup auch die Qualität der Print-Produkte, bei überschaubaren Mehrkosten im Satz. Gleichzeitig sind wir damit für die Zukunft gerüstet, z. B. für rein elektronische Produkte.“

Jürgen Schneider, Herstellungsleiter, Hogrefe Verlag (2013)