Dieter Meschede: “Gerthsen Physik”, 24th edition

Customer: Springer-Verlag

Illustration: Gerthsen (Springer)

Ever since Christian Gerthsen published the first edition of his physics text book in 1948, “the Gerthsen” has been an invaluable companion to whole generations of physics students studying the subject at major, minor, basic, advanced, or degree level.

The latest edition, the 24th, has been graphically redesigned and typeset by le-tex, with production editing support. The image processing department was assigned the task of adapting all 1,400 illustrations to the new layout and creating numerous new and sometimes very complex drawings. Converting the RGB master illustrations, the color of which was reduced to black and one Pantone color without any loss of information, was particularly challenging.

Visualizing complex technical interrelationships in the field of natural science and maintaining a clear and consistent design concept are among the particular strengths of the le-tex graphic design team.

Dieter Meschede: „Gerthsen Physik“, 24. Auflage

Illustration: Gerthsen (Springer)

Seit Christian Gerthsen im Jahre 1948 die erste Auflage seines Physiklehrbuchs veröffentlichte, ist „der Gerthsen“ wertvoller Begleiter ganzer Generationen von Physikstudenten, sei es im Haupt- oder im Nebenfach, im Grund-, im Bachelor- oder einem weiterführenden Studium.

Die jüngst erschienene 24. Auflage wurde durch le-tex grafisch neu konzipiert, herstellerisch betreut und gesetzt. Der Bildbearbeitungsabteilung kam dabei die Aufgabe zu, sämtliche 1.400 Abbildungen dem neuen Layout anzupassen und zahlreiche, mitunter sehr aufwendige Zeichnungen neu zu erstellen. Eine besondere Herausforderung stellte die Umsetzung der RGB-Bildvorlagen dar, deren Farbigkeit ohne Informationsverlust auf Schwarz und eine Pantonefarbe reduziert wurde.

Komplexe technisch-naturwissenschaftliche Zusammenhänge zu visualisieren und dabei eine klare gestalterische Linie zu verfolgen, gehört zu den Stärken der grafischen Gestalterinnen und Gestalter von le-tex.