InDesign

InDesign is used by le-tex primarily for medical and legal books and journals, as well as other projects with special design requirements. The staff of the InDesign department are trained in typography to a high standard.

Systematic use of paragraph and character styles, object styles, and scripts – as well as the implementation of typographic regulations – also allows a high level of automation. This is necessary to ensure high throughput and exportability to XML.

At le-tex, tables of contents and indexes are dynamically generated from the typesetting data as a matter of course.

XML can be designated as both an input and an output format in InDesign typesetting. We are very familiar with the precise limitations and pitfalls of typesetting from XML. This means we are able to synthesize InDesign files in IDML format completely from XML, if script processing of the XML is likely to be too laborious. This is regularly the case when a large index needs to be processed.

In numerous projects, we have also provided our customers with solutions to other limitations of InDesign, such as the standard restriction to one index or problems with round-tripping.

Our pioneering approach includes incorporating into the production process features from the latest InDesign versions, such as headings spanning multiple columns in InDesign CS5, particularly for typesetting from XML.

In the field of e-book conversion, we are specialists in the processing of InDesign data (we also process Quark data with the help of the Q2ID plug-ins from Markzware). Particularly in cases where a single layout exists for multiple similar titles and these titles have features such as footnotes, marginalia, tables etc., it is worthwhile to write a conversion program in XSLT 2.0 instead of laboriously converting PDFs.

Title:
Vishveshwara: Einstein's Enigma
Customer:
Springer-Verlag
Info on production:
InDesign
Sample chapter or similar:
More... (Customer website)

Title:
Bullinger: Technologieführer (Technology Guide)
Customer:
Springer-Verlag
Info on production:
InDesign
Sample chapter or similar:
More... (Customer website)

InDesign wird bei le-tex vor allem für Bücher und Zeitschriften aus den Bereichen Medizin und Recht eingesetzt, aber auch für andere Projekte mit besonderen Gestaltungsanforderungen. Die Mitarbeiter der InDesign-Abteilung sind in besonderem Maße typografisch geschult.

Konsequenter Einsatz von Absatz- und Zeichenformaten, Objektstilen und Skripten ermöglicht – neben der Durchsetzung von typographischen Festlegungen – einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad. Das ist die Voraussetzung für hohen Durchsatz und Exportierbarkeit nach XML.

Es ist bei le-tex selbstverständlich, dass sich Inhaltsverzeichnisse und Indizes dynamisch aus den Satzdaten erzeugen.

XML kann im InDesign-Satz sowohl als Eingangs- als auch Ausgangsformat spezifiziert werden. Wir kennen sehr genau die Einschränkungen und Fallstricke beim Satz aus XML. So sind wir in der Lage, InDesign-Dateien im IDML-Format komplett aus XML zu synthetisieren, wenn die Skriptverarbeitung des XML zu aufwändig wäre. Dies ist regelmäßig der Fall, wenn ein großes Register zu verarbeiten ist.

Auch andere Einschränkungen von InDesign, wie z. B. die standardmäßige Beschränkung auf ein Register oder die Probleme beim Round-Tripping, haben wir für unsere Kunden in zahlreichen Projekten gelöst.

Im Bereich E-Book-Konvertierung sind wir Spezialisten für die Verarbeitung von InDesign-Daten. (Quark-Daten verarbeiten wir ebenfalls, mit Hilfe des Q2ID-Plugins von Markzware.) Besonders wenn ein einziges Layout für mehrere gleichartige Titel existiert und diese Titel über Merkmale wie Fußnoten, Marginalien, Tabellen etc. verfügen, lohnt es sich, ein Konvertierprogramm in XSLT 2.0 zu schreiben, anstatt mühsam PDFs zu konvertieren.