Thanks in particular to its math typesetting quality and its LaTeX and AMSTeX add-ons, TeX is the de-facto standard system for typesetting scientific and mathematical publications. Its programmability means TeX enables standardized layouts and batch processing (e.g. for automatic data conversion). It also offers a high level of flexibility and scalability.

Author data or: There's TeX and there's TeX

The fact that TeX is so powerful means that authors use self-defined, sometimes unorthodox markups. Added to this is a problem that TeX has in common with other text processing and DTP programs: It allows authors to format manuscripts with purely visual commands (bold, 14 pt, space; superscript 12 followed by upright C; freely formatted reference) rather than using common sense or a logical structure (chapter heading; chemical symbol; structured reference). This tends to make standardized formatting or data conversion more difficult.

Normalization

More and more publishers have come to recognize their content as an asset that can be reused in ways that extend beyond the latest printed edition. These include data import into specialized databases, the sale (incl. chapter by chapter) of linked e-books and HTML renditions, the publication of purely electronic interim editions, or the long-term archiving and reuse of content.

TeX is better suited to this type of extended content reuse than many other data formats. Even mathematical, scientific, and technical works with math content can be edited directly in TeX by the author of a follow-up edition (many authors might prefer to edit the data in Word, in which case a conversion is always required because typesetting works with math content in Word is not recommended).

To ensure the content is rendered in a standardized way and is reusable, a process of normalization is required.

le-tex uses tools for efficient normalization of TeX and other input (e.g. Word or Plain Text from OCR):

  • TeX macro packages for semantic markup (e.g. science.sty), 
  • xemacs macro packages for automatic or semi-automatic structuring (references, numerical values / physical units, chemical formulae etc.), 
  • Conversion tools from TeX to different XML document types with validation of the TeX input during conversion and validation of the XML output against a DTD / an XML schema, 
  • Creation of macro packages for publishers to release to authors, 
  • Author consulting, and 
  • Not least, many experienced employees, including numerous academics, who keep a close eye on the whole process and content lifecycle. 

XML rendering

TeX can typeset XML data directly in the accustomed TeX quality. This makes it far superior to all XSL-FO engines. It is therefore suitable as a print backend system for loose-leaf publications, fulltext XML journals, and every other type of structured or semi-structured content. le-tex typesets numerous journals and books in TeX directly from XML source text and is therefore at the cutting edge when it comes to productive application of xmltex.

xmltex and LaTeX can handle any Unicode character, provided it is contained within a font. However, if the resulting PDF file also needs to contain the characters at the correct Unicode position (e.g. for correct searchability of linguistic texts), XeTeX with Unicode fonts can be used as an alternative. Rather than being directly typeset from XML using TeX, in this case the documents are typically converted into UTF-8-coded LaTeX source text by an upstream XSLT processor as part of a stable, makefile-controlled workflow.

Layout

Books and articles typeset in TeX must not be recognizable as such. With TeX, many people expect the typical look of single-column text in Computer Modern fonts, as generated by the LaTeX standard document classes. Examples such as Informatik Spektrum (IT Spectrum) or the Springer Handbook series illustrate how le-tex creates sophisticated layouts with multiple columns, customized fonts, and spot colors in TeX for numerous journals and books.

Contact

Thomas Schmidt
E-mail: thomas.schmidt@le-tex.de
Phone: +49 341 355356 120
Fax: +49 341 355356 520

Andrea Köhler
E-mail: andrea.koehler@le-tex.de
Phone: +49 341 355356 180
Fax: +49 341 355356 580

Insbesondere ist TeX dank seiner Formelsatzqualität und seinen Erweiterungen LaTeX und AMSTeX das Satzsystem mit dem De-facto-Standard für den Satz naturwissenschaftlicher und mathematischer Publikationen. Dank seiner Programmierbarkeit ermöglicht TeX standardisierte Layouts und Batch-Processing (z. B. für automatische Datenkonvertierung). Gleichzeitig bietet TeX ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität und Erweiterbarkeit.

Autordaten oder: TeX ist nicht gleich TeX

Diese Mächtigkeit von TeX hat zur Folge, dass Autoren selbstdefiniertes, teilweise unorthodoxes Markup verwenden. Hinzu kommt ein Problem, das TeX mit anderen Textverarbeitungs- bzw. DTP-Programmen gemeinsam hat: dass Autoren die Manuskripte rein mit visuellen Anweisungen (fett, 14pt, Leerzeile; hochgestellte 12 gefolgt von steilem C; frei formatierter Literaturhinweis) und nicht nach Sinn oder logischer Struktur (Kapitelüberschrift; chemisches Symbol; strukturierte Referenz) formatieren dürfen, was einheitliche Formatierung oder Datenkonvertierung in der Regel erschwert.

Normalisierung

Immer mehr Verlage erkennen, dass ihr Content ein Asset ist, d. h., dass es Verwertungsformen gibt, die über die aktuell herzustellende Printauflage hinausweisen: sei es der Datenimport in Fachdatenbanken, der (auch kapitelweise) Verkauf von verlinkten E-Books und HTML-Renditions, die Veröffentlichung von rein elektronischen Zwischenauflagen oder die Langzeitarchivierung und Wiederverwertung von Content.

Für diese erweiterte Inhalteverwertung ist TeX besser geeignet als viele andere Datenformate. Gerade formelhaltige Werke aus Mathematik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik können vom Autor einer Folgeauflage direkt in TeX bearbeitet werden. (Viele Autoren möchten die Daten vielleicht lieber in Word bearbeiten. Hier ist dann immer eine Konvertierung nötig, denn der Satz von formelhaltigen Werken in Word ist nicht empfehlenswert.)

Um sicherzustellen, dass der Content einheitlich gerendert wird und wiederverwendbar ist, bedarf es der Normalisierung.

le-tex verfügt über Instrumente zur effizienten Normalisierung von TeX und sonstigem Input (z. B. Word oder Plain Text aus OCR):

  • TeX-Makropakete für semantisches Markup (z. B. science.sty), 
  • emacs-Makropakete zur automatischen oder semiautomatischen Strukturierung (Referenzen, Zahlenwerte / physikalische Einheiten, chemische Formeln etc.), 
  • Konvertierungstools von TeX nach unterschiedlichen XML-Dokumenttypen mit Validierung des TeX-Inputs während der Konvertierung und Validierung des XML-Outputs gegen eine DTD / ein XML-Schema, 
  • Erstellung von Makropaketen für Verlage zur Herausgabe an die Autoren, 
  • Autorenberatung und 
  • nicht zuletzt viele erfahrene Mitarbeiter, darunter zahlreiche Akademiker, die den gesamten Prozess und Content-Lebenszyklus im Auge haben. 

XML-Rendering

TeX ist in der Lage, XML-Daten in der gewohnten TeX-Qualität direkt zu setzen. Es ist dabei allen XSL-FO-Engines weit überlegen. Deswegen eignet es sich als Print-Backend-System für Loseblattsammlungen, Fulltext-XML-Zeitschriften sowie jede andere Art strukturierten oder semistrukturierten Contents. le-tex setzt zahlreiche Zeitschriften und Bücher in TeX direkt aus XML-Quelltext und ist somit führend im produktiven Einsatz von xmltex.

Mit xmltex und LaTeX lässt sich jedes Unicode-Zeichen ansprechen, sofern es in irgendeiner Schriftart enthalten ist. Sofern jedoch die resultierende PDF-Datei die Zeichen auch an der korrekten Unicode-Position enthalten muss (z. B. für korrekte Durchsuchbarkeit von linguistischen Texten), kann alternativ XeTeX mit Unicode-Fonts verwendet werden. Die Dokumente werden dann nicht mehr direkt durch TeX aus XML gesetzt, sondern typischerweise von einem vorgeschalteten XSLT-Prozessor im Rahmen eines stabilen, Makefile-gesteuerten Workflows in UTF-8-kodierten LaTeX-Quelltext konvertiert.

Layout

In TeX gesetzte Bücher und Artikel müssen nicht als solche zu erkennen sein. Viele Leute erwarten bei TeX den typischen Anblick von einspaltigem Text in Computer-Modern-Schriften, wie er von den LaTeX-Standard-Dokumentklassen erzeugt wird. Beispiele wie Informatik Spektrum oder die Springer-Handbook-Serie illustrieren, dass le-tex bei zahlreichen Zeitschriften und Büchern anspruchsvolle und auch mehrspaltige Layouts mit individuellen Schriften und Schmuckfarben in TeX realisiert.

Ansprechpartner

Thomas Schmidt
E-Mail: thomas.schmidt@le-tex.de
Tel: +49 341 355356 120
Fax: +49 341 355356 520

Andrea Köhler
E-Mail: andrea.koehler@le-tex.de
Tel: +49 341 355356 180
Fax: +49 341 355356 580