This website

The technology behind this website serves to demonstrate le-tex's approach to media-neutral publishing. Many of the tools used in day-to-day production are also used to edit and publish these pages.

Data format: DocBook XML

The text content is managed in a single XML file according to DocBook document type “book” that is also used for some of the books typeset by le-tex.

Version control: svn

This XML file, the remaining content data (mainly the master files for the images), the layout information, and the configuration for the HTML generation are located under version control in an svn repository.

le-tex uses Subversion (svn) version control for numerous software development projects. In some production lines, the content and configuration (e.g. project-specific LaTeX macros or makefiles) are also located in svn repositories.

For this and other projects, svn version control allows:

  • Simultaneous (“concurrent”) editing with automatic merging of changes and/or conflict recognition, 
  • Tracking of changes (who has changed it, when, how and why), and 
  • Recovery of older versions. 

Editing

The XML file is managed using a visual XML editor or an XML-compatible text editor. A spellcheck can optionally be performed from the editor. The tools used are GNU Emacs/xemacs with aspell or, more recently, oXygen XML Editor.

Larger newly written passages generally undergo linguistic copy editing.

Translation

This website is in German and English. Changes to content are made in the German file. The translation workflow is as follows.

An external translator receives the complete file and translates it with the help of a computer-aided translation (CAT) tool, SDL Trados.

This tool is used to manage a Translation Memory that memorizes pairs of translated phrases for this website (and for other le-tex publications). The tool can then automatically translate text passages that are already known – depending the level of match – so that only the changed or new passages need to be newly translated.

HTML generation

The individual XHTML pages from the DocBook files are generated using an XSLT 2.0 stylesheet.*

A CSS2 stylesheet creates the actual layout of the HTML pages generated in this way.

The raw versions of the images are scaled to the target size using ImageMagick.

A makefile automates the generation processes and, in combination with a validating XML parser and other scripts, ensures that the data corresponds to the web standards and that all the links function correctly (the XSLT sheet ensures that links are only provided to foreign-language pages where a translated version is available).

The only commands that a copy editor needs to bear in mind are svn update, make, and svn commit, as these enable him or her to update the changed source data locally, generate a preview of the site, and resubmit the changed source files to the svn repository after editing. Additionally, the webmaster must (and has permission to) execute a make install command in order to activate the pages, i.e. upload them to the web server.

Why no CMS?

This site consists of static content that is updated every so often (sometimes several times a week, then not again for another month). As explained above, editing, translation, and HTML generation are performed using sophisticated tools.

le-tex uses this command-line-controlled xemacs/aspell/make toolchain not because it simply knows of no alternative, but because this toolchain is more powerful, streamlined, and therefore cost-effective for the task in hand than one of the standard content management systems that require a lot more infrastructure (database, caching). The database models of these systems are often inadequate for semi-structured content and the systems themselves typically require some integration and compromises in order to interact with standard tools like a Translation Memory.

The alternative at the other end of the spectrum, static HTML pages, would have meant forfeiting any agility in terms of restructuring or changes to the layout. If you had to tackle 40 HTML files with redundant code in order to make global changes, for instance, it's likely you'd leave the page unchanged for years. That was exactly the fate of the old pages.

The only aspect that could be improved in the future (and an advantage that good CMSs have over the approach described) is a workflow component that goes beyond the purely technical workflow control of a makefile. The website management, copy editing, translation, and activation processes are currently still initiated in a purely informal way. These processes are subsequently to be packaged into a clear framework with the help of a business process management system.

*

When you click on the link, all browsers except Firefox will tell you that the “page” may not be displayed. This is probably because they try to interpret the .xsl file as if it was meant to generate HTML output for them to render. If you use your browser’s “view source code” function for the purportedly faulty page, you will see the XSLT code.

On this page

Editing with xemacs and aspell


	    Editing with xemacs and aspell

Translation with Trados


	    Translation with Trados

Die Technologie hinter dieser Website ist eine Demonstration der Herangehensweise von le-tex in Bezug auf medienneutrales Publishing. Beim Bearbeiten und Veröffentlichen dieser Seiten kommen viele der auch in der laufenden Produktion eingesetzten Tools zum Einsatz.

Datenformat: DocBook XML

Der textuelle Inhalt wird in einer einzigen XML-Datei gemäß dem DocBook-Dokumenttyp „book“ gepflegt, der ansonsten für einige der bei le-tex gesetzten Bücher zum Einsatz kommt.

Versionskontrolle: svn

Diese XML-Datei, die übrigen Inhaltsdaten (im Wesentlichen die Masterdateien der Bilder), die Layoutinformationen und die Konfiguration der HTML-Generierung befinden sich unter Versionskontrolle in einem svn-Repository.

Die Versionskontrolle Subversion (svn) setzt le-tex für zahlreiche Softwareentwicklungsprojekte ein. In einigen Produktionslinien befindet sich auch der Inhalt und die Konfiguration (z. B. projektspezifische LaTeX-Makros oder Makefiles) in svn-Repositories.

Die Versionskontrolle svn ermöglicht bei diesem und anderen Projekten:

  • gleichzeitige („konkurrierende“) Bearbeitung mit automatischem Zusammenführen der Änderungen bzw. mit Konflikterkennung, 
  • Nachvollziehen der Änderungen (wer hat es wann wie geändert, und warum) und 
  • Wiederherstellung älterer Versionen. 

Redaktion

Die XML-Datei wird mit einem visuellen XML-Editor oder mit einem XML-tauglichen Texteditor gepflegt. Aus dem Editor heraus erfolgt optional eine Rechtschreibprüfung. Als Tools kommen z. B. GNU Emacs/xemacs mit aspell oder neuerdings auch oXygen XML Editor zum Einsatz.

Größere neu geschriebene Passagen erfahren i. d. R. ein sprachliches Copy-Editing.

Übersetzung

Diese Website wird in Deutsch und Englisch angeboten. Dabei werden inhaltliche Änderungen an der deutschen Datei vorgenommen. Der Übersetzungsworkflow ist dabei wie folgt.

Eine externe Übersetzerin erhält die komplette Datei und übersetzt sie mit Hilfe eines Computer-Aided-Translation- (CAT-) Tools, SDL Trados.

Mit Hilfe dieses Tools wird ein so genanntes Translation Memory gepflegt, das sich Paare von übersetzten Phrasen dieser Website (und anderer Publikationen von le-tex) merkt. Das Tool kann dann bereits bekannte Textpassagen – je nach Grad der Übereinstimmung – automatisch übersetzen, so dass nur die geänderten oder neuen Passagen neu übersetzt werden müssen.

HTML-Erzeugung

Mit Hilfe eines XSLT-2.0-Stylesheets werden die einzelnen XHTML-Seiten aus den DocBook-Dateien erzeugt.*

Ein CSS2-Stylesheet bewirkt das eigentliche Layout der so erzeugten HTML-Seiten.

Die Rohfassungen der Bilder werden mit ImageMagick auf die Zielgröße skaliert.

Ein Makefile automatisiert die Generierungsprozesse und sorgt in Verbindung mit einem validierenden XML-Parser und weiteren Skripten dafür, dass die Daten den Web-Standards entsprechen und dass keine Links ins Leere zeigen. (Dass nur auf diejenigen fremdsprachigen Seiten verlinkt wird, für die es tatsächlich eine Übersetzung gibt, dafür sorgt bereits das XSLT-Sheet.)

Die einzigen Befehle, die sich ein Copy-Editor merken muss, sind dabei svn update, make und svn commit, denn damit kann er lokal die geänderten Quelldaten aktualisieren, eine Vorschau der Site erzeugen und die abermals geänderten Quelldaten nach der Bearbeitung ins svn-Repository zurückspielen. Der Webmaster muss (und darf) zusätzlich make install ausführen, um die Seiten freizuschalten, d. h., auf den Webserver hochzuladen.

Warum kein CMS?

Diese Site besteht aus statischem Inhalt, der gelegentlich (manchmal mehrmals wöchentlich, dann wieder einen Monat nicht mehr) aktualisiert wird. Wie oben ausgeführt, erfolgt die Redaktion, Übersetzung und HTML-Generierung mit Hilfe ausgereifter Tools.

le-tex setzt diese kommandozeilengesteuerte xemacs-/aspell-/make-Toolchain nicht bloß deswegen ein, weil es nichts anderes kennt, sondern weil diese Toolchain für die gestellte Aufgabe mächtiger, schlanker und damit kostengünstiger ist als eines der gängigen Content-Management-Systeme, die viel mehr Infrastruktur benötigen (Datenbank, Caching), deren Datenbankmodelle für semistrukturierten Inhalt häufig inadäquat sind und die typischerweise einiges an Systemintegration und Kompromissen erfordern, um Standardtools wie ein Translation Memory anzudocken.

Die Alternative am anderen Ende des Spektrums, statische HTML-Seiten, hätten dazu geführt, dass man jegliche Agilität eingebüßt hätte, was Umstrukturierung oder Layoutänderung angeht. Denn wenn man 40 HTML-Dateien mit redundantem Code hätte anfassen müssen, um globale Änderungen durchzuführen, würde man die Seite lieber jahrelang so lassen, wie sie ist. Das war genau das Schicksal der alten Seiten.

Der einzige Wunsch für die Zukunft (und das, was gute CMSe der beschriebenen Herangehensweise voraus haben) ist eine Workflowkomponente, die über die rein technische Ablaufsteuerung eines Makefiles hinausgeht: Mit Hilfe eines Business-Process-Management-Systems sollen später die heute noch rein informell angestoßenen Prozesse der Website-Pflege, des Copy-Editings, der Übersetzung und der Freischaltung in einen nachvollziehbaren Rahmen gepackt werden.

*

Wenn Sie dem Link folgen, sagen alle Browser außer Firefox, dass die „Seite“ nicht angezeigt werden kann. Möglicherweise versuchen die Browser, die .xsl-Datei so zu interpretieren, als ob sie im Browser HTML erzeugen müsste. Verwenden Sie die in diesem Fall die „Quellcode-anzeigen“-Funktion Ihres Browsers, um den XSLT-Quelltext zu sehen.