Electronic publishing

Quality, know-how, and accessibility

We first began converting electronic books when the EPUB standard was still in its infancy. Today, e-book conversion is one of our core services, alongside typesetting and developing specific publishing tools.

We convert e-books from raw typesetting data, print data in PDF format, and structured data such as XML. We digitize and convert backlist titles which are originally only available in printed form. We also support publishers with the conversion of enhanced e-books and integrate interactive content, animations, read-aloud, and audio and video data.

We individually check and revise older, externally produced e-books to bring these up to date with the latest standards and ensure compatibility with current devices. And last but not least, we provide e-book converters and checking tools from our transpect framework for the automation of e-book workflows.

A key theme in this context is accessibility of e-books. Our EPUB converter ensures that metadata, text, and navigation are accessible for people with visual impairment. Other features such as alternative text for graphics, fallbacks for math content etc. can also be integrated. The same applies to the creation of accessible online PDFs from LaTeX or InDesign that conform to current PDF/A standards.

We track the progress of e-book formats and readers and are actively involved in discussions regarding their technical development. Our development department tests new e-book features on different readers and implements them in prototypes or customer projects. Our customers benefit from our pioneering work and our commitment to ongoing technical optimization.

Tel: +49 341 355356 171

Fax: +49 341 355356 171

Overview of services

  • Conversion of e-books from Adobe InDesign, QuarkXPress, PDF, XML, and other formats

  • Conversion of enhanced e-books: Interactive content, animations, read-aloud, and audio and video data

  • Support of all standard e-book formats: EPUB 2 and 3, PDF, Amazon KF8, optionally also with fixed layout, retrodigitization and conversion of backlists

  • Upgrading old e-books to new e-book standards

Elektronisches Publizieren

Qualität, Know-how und Barrierefreiheit

Als der EPUB-Standard noch in den Kinderschuhen steckte, begannen wir bereits mit der Konvertierung von elektronischen Büchern. Heute ist die E-Book-Konvertierung neben dem Satz und der Entwicklung spezifischer Verlagstools einer unserer Schwerpunkte.

Wir konvertieren E-Books aus offenen Satzdaten, aus Druckdaten im PDF-Format und aus strukturierten Daten wie z. B. XML. Wir digitalisieren und konvertieren Backlisttitel, die nur noch in gedruckter Form vorliegen. Zudem unterstützen wir Verlage bei der Umsetzung von Enhanced-E-Books und integrieren interaktive Inhalte, Animationen, Read-Aloud sowie Audio- und Videodaten.

Ältere E-Books aus Fremdproduktionen prüfen und korrigieren wir individuell, um sie wieder in Einklang mit neuen Standards und aktuellen Geräten zu bringen. Und nicht zuletzt stellen wir E-Book-Konverter und -Prüftools aus unserem transpect-Framework zur Automatisierung von E-Book-Workflows zur Verfügung.

Ein wichtiges Thema in diesem Zusammenhang ist die Barrierefreiheit von E-Books. Unser EPUB-Konverter sorgt dafür, dass Metadaten, Text und Navigation zugänglicher für Menschen mit Sehbehinderung sind. Weitere Features wie Alternativtexte für Grafiken, Fallbacks für Formeln etc. können ebenfalls integriert werden. Gleiches gilt auch für die Erstellung von barrierefreien Online-PDFs aus LaTeX oder InDesign, die den gängigen PDF/A-Standards entsprechen.

Wir verfolgen den Fortschritt bei E-Book-Formaten und Lesegeräten und beteiligen uns an den Diskussionen rund um deren technische Weiterentwicklung. Neue E-Book-Features werden von unserer Entwicklungsabteilung auf verschiedenen Lesegeräten getestet und in Prototypen oder Kundenprojekten umgesetzt. Von unserer Pionierarbeit und dem Anspruch an beständige technische Optimierung profitieren unsere Kunden.

Tel: +49 341 355356 171

Fax: +49 341 355356 171

Leistungen im Überblick

  • Konvertierung von E-Books aus Adobe InDesign, QuarkXPress, PDF, XML und anderen Formaten

  • Umsetzung von Enhanced-E-Books: ­interaktive Inhalte, Animationen, Read-Aloud sowie Audio- und Videodaten

  • Unterstützung aller gängigen E-Book-Formate: EPUB 2 und 3, PDF, ­Amazon KF8, wahlweise auch als Fixed-Layout, ­Retrodigitalisierung und Konvertierung von Backlists

  • Aufbereitung veralteter E-Books nach neuen E-Book-Standards