In the majority of cases, the most expensive aspect of typesetting is data normalization – all the more so if electronic products are to be generated in addition to a print product. To save normalization and conversion costs, the data should be checked at several stages of the process.

Manuscript data

While pre-flight checks for print PDFs are self-evident at the end of the process, suitable tools are often lacking at the start. Many publishers have their own Word templates and XML DTDs. Sometimes, the Word template has already been checked for convertibility to the XML structure.

However, there is always a conflict of objectives when creating document templates with checking mechanisms: On the one hand, you wish to prevent certain things like, for instance, omission of a section hierarchy level, while on the other, it must be possible to mark up a broad range of manuscripts with the same template, and there are always some exceptions. The template must therefore be neither too strict nor too liberal.

Manuscript markup requirements can also vary from series to series, but you do not want to have to maintain a different template version for each series. It may also become necessary to adapt or create new rules as time goes by. The problem with this is that you have to persuade authors using the old template to replace it with the new one.

Ultimately, it is often the case that no one checks whether the rules have actually been obeyed and even whether the authors have used the template at all. The data is sent unchecked to the service provider, which then leads to normalization costs.

In our experience, it is often advisable to allow authors to work with a highly generic Word template and to check compliance with guidelines, including publication-specific ones, on the server side after uploading of the file. Errors and warnings can be indicated by comments in the Word file (see screenshot for DIN standards checking). Even if you would rather spare the authors from this kind of checking, it is nonetheless useful for production editors, copy editors, or editorial managers at the publishing company because it facilitates quality checking of one's own work and provides a traceable basis for time and cost estimates in the case of external production.

Digitized data

le-tex often assigns standardized and cost-sensitive digitization jobs with a specified minimum size to sub-contractors from Central and Eastern Europe or Asia. Quality assurance of table entry was for a long time particularly difficult, as the service providers first had to familiarize themselves with the different XML dialects of the customers (e.g. with regard to the permissible inline markup of CALS tables) and frequently did not have tools for visual quality assurance of the XML dialects.

For entering new data, le-tex therefore uses XHTML tables, although these need to comply with additional strict rules so that they can be converted unambiguously into the relevant XML target formats. Any service provider can check compliance with these rules with a freely available Schematron checking script. XHTML also allows direct visual quality control in the browser.

Similar import checks exist for image and LaTeX data. The main difference from manuscript checking is that it is possible to go into more technical detail with service providers than with authors.

Typesetting data

If high-quality XML files or EPUBs are to be created automatically from InDesign data supplied by a typesetting team, the data must fulfil certain criteria e.g. with regard to the use of style sheets.

le-tex provides online checking services for this too. These are adapted to the customer's individual workflows and supplement the print-related pre-flight checks with a structurability check. They therefore represent an alternative to InDesign XML workflows that are usually more expensive than conventional typesetting and require compromises in many places.

Das teuerste am Satz ist meistens die Datennormalisierung. Das gilt um so mehr, wenn nicht nur ein Printprodukt, sondern auch elektronische Produkte erzeugt werden sollen. Um Normalisierungs- und Konvertierungskosten zu sparen, sollte man die Daten an mehreren Stellen im Prozess prüfen.

Manuskriptdaten

Während Pre-Flight-Checks für Print-PDFs am Ende des Prozesses selbstverständlich sind, fehlen zu Beginn des Prozesses häufig geeignete Werkzeuge. Viele Verlage haben eigene Word-Vorlagen und eigene XML-DTDs. Manchmal erfolgt in der Word-Vorlage bereits eine Überprüfung im Hinblick auf Konvertierbarkeit in die XML-Struktur.

Jedoch besteht beim Entwurf von Dokumentvorlagen mit Prüfmechanismen immer ein Zielkonflikt: man möchte einerseits gewisse Dinge wie z. B. Hierarchiesprünge verhindern. Andererseits muss eine breite Palette von Manuskripten mit derselben Vorlage ausgezeichnet werden können, und es gibt immer irgendwelche Ausnahmen. Die Vorlage darf also einerseits nicht zu streng, aber auch nicht zu liberal sein.

Manuskriptauszeichnungsanforderungen können sich auch von Reihe zu Reihe unterscheiden. Man möchte aber nicht für jede Reihe eine eigene Vorlagenvariante pflegen müssen. Außerdem können mit der Zeit neue oder angepasste Regeln erforderlich werden. Dann hat man das Problem, dass man Autoren, die die alte Vorlage verwenden, dazu bewegen muss, diese durch die neue zu ersetzen.

Schließlich überprüft häufig niemand, ob die Regeln tatsächlich eingehalten wurden und ob die Autoren überhaupt die Vorlage verwendet haben. Die Daten werden ungeprüft dem Dienstleister übergeben, bei dem dann Normalisierungskosten entstehen.

Nach unserer Erfahrung ist es oft sinnvoll, Autoren mit einer ganz generischen Wordvorlage arbeiten zu lassen und die Einhaltung von Richtlinien, auch von publikationsspezifischen, serverseitig nach dem Hochladen der Datei zu überprüfen. Fehler und Warnungen können in der Worddatei als Kommentare kenntlich gemacht werden (siehe Screenshot der DIN-Normenprüfung). Selbst wenn man den Autoren eine solche Prüfung nicht zumuten mag, ist sie für Hersteller, Copy-Editoren oder Lektoren im Verlag nützlich. Denn dann kann man leicht die Qualität der eigenen Arbeit überprüfen bzw. bei externer Produktion eine nachvollziehbare Grundlage für Zeit- und Kostenabschätzungen schaffen.

Digitalisierte Daten

Standardisierbare und kostensensible Digitalisierungsaufträge mit einer bestimmten Mindestgröße vergibt le-tex häufig an Subkontraktoren aus Mittel- und Osteuropa oder Asien. Insbesondere die Tabellenerfassung war lange Zeit schwierig qualitätszusichern, da die Dienstleister sich zunächst in die unterschiedlichen XML-Dialekte der Kunden einarbeiten mussten (z. B. in Bezug auf das zulässige Inline-Markup von CALS-Tabellen) und sie häufig nicht über Mittel zur visuellen Qualitätssicherung der XML-Dialekte verfügten.

le-tex setzt deswegen bei der Neuerfassung auf XHTML-Tabellen, die aber zusätzlichen strengen Regeln genügen müssen, damit sie eindeutig in die jeweiligen XML-Zielformate konvertiert werden können. Die Einhaltung dieser Regeln kann jeder Dienstleister mit einem frei verfügbaren Schematron-Prüfskript überprüfen. Außerdem ermöglicht XHTML die unmittelbare visuelle Qualitätskontrolle im Browser.

Ähnliche Importprüfungen existieren für Bild- und LaTeX-Daten. Hauptunterschied zur Manuskriptprüfung ist, dass man Dienstleistern etwas technischer kommen darf als Autoren.

Satzdaten

Wenn aus InDesign-Daten, die ein Satzbetrieb liefert, automatisch hochwertige XML-Dateien oder EPUBs erstellt werden sollen, müssen die Daten bestimmten Kriterien genügen, z. B. im Hinblick auf die Verwendung von Formatvorlagen.

le-tex bietet auch hierfür Online-Prüfdienste. Diese werden auf die jeweiligen Kundenworkflows angepasst und ergänzen die druckbezogenen Pre-Flight-Prüfungen komplementär um eine Überprüfung auf Strukturierbarkeit. Dadurch stellen sie eine Alternative zu InDesign-XML-Workflows dar, die i.d.R. teurer sind als konventioneller Satz und die an vielen Stellen Kompromisse erfordern.