Word

Word typesetting

Word is a popular tool among authors and supports numerous publishing workflows with features such as Track Changes. For actual page makeup, however, more suitable tools such as InDesign or TeX are used in most cases. In principle, conversion into these formats is relatively straightforward, although it often involves reworking or checking which incurs costs. This is particularly the case if the author does not use style sheets systematically and consistently.

Finalizing a Word manuscript in Word can offer a cost-effective alternative to page makeup in TeX, InDesign, or other typesetting systems, provided certain requirements are met. Problems may be encountered with complex layouts, certain image types, or particularly large publications, for example. However, many manuscripts are suited to a Word-only workflow.

To handle a workflow like this requires specific experience. le-tex has developed methods and tools to enable efficient handling of even very large or technically demanding Word documents. le-tex has proved its skill in this field in over a hundred projects totaling many tens of thousands of pages.

The following services are provided:

  • Typesetting of books, journals, and proceedings; 
  • Consulting for authors and publishers; 
  • “Repair” of Word files; 
  • Finalizing of Word documents (i.e. page makeup, image import, and index creation); 
  • Organization and integration of individual files into complete documents; 
  • Editing of large documents (> 1000 pages); 
  • Generation of complex indexes (e.g. for proceeding series with 5000-page volumes); 
  • Creation and adaptation of templates; 
  • Macro programming; 
  • Conversion of Word data into PDF documents; 
  • Conversion of Word documents with math content and tables into TeX and vice versa; and 
  • Conversion of Word documents generally into XML and vice versa. 

Word as an authoring tool: Word to XML, XML to Word

Approximately 90% of all authors (depending on the subject area) insist on Word as a tool for editing their manuscripts. le-tex creates style sheets and converters, in order not only to meet the author's needs in this regard but also to fulfil the publisher's requirements for standardized, reusable content with an attractive layout.

Word author templates can be restricted to the required paragraph and character styles so that the content can be converted to XML or other formats without manual intervention.

However, there is also a demand for conversion in the opposite direction, particularly among the growing number of publishers who store their books as full-text XML. le-tex can efficiently convert structured XML content including tables, math content, index entries, or nested lists into Word. Authors can then use their familiar Word environment to edit follow-up editions of their works. This also enables copy editing in Word. Depending on the strictness of the Word style sheet and with the author's cooperation, the text can then be converted back to XML automatically and rendered with the help of other tools such as LaTeX, InDesign, XSL-FO processors, or HTML converters.

During the conversion, le-tex uses the Word 2007 format Office Open XML (.docx), guaranteed by Microsoft to be compatible with older Word versions. In other words, even if the actual conversion always takes place between Word XML and the XML target format, authors can be supplied with conventional Word data (e.g. Word 2003) for the previous edition.

Technologically, le-tex has implemented the conversion between Word and other XML formats predominantly in XSLT/XPath 2.0. The approach is similar to that of roundtrip from the DocBook XSL project, where the le-tex converter stands out for the following reasons:

  • Extensive coverage of the markup features (including tables, lists), 
  • Support for XML formats other than DocBook (where DocBook performs a key role as a neutral interim or hub format) 
  • And finally by using powerful XSLT/Xpath 2.0 constructs which provided not only more compact, easy-to-maintain code, but also, and most importantly, solutions to some of the roundtrip shortcomings. 

Word as an authoring tool in an XML InDesign workflow


  	Word as an authoring tool in an XML InDesign workflow

Title:
Dueck: Lean Brain Management
Customer:
Springer-Verlag
Info on production:
Word
Sample chapter or similar:
More... (Customer website)

Word-Satz

Word ist ein beliebtes Autorenwerkzeug und unterstützt durch Features wie Änderungsverfolgung zahlreiche Workflows im Verlagsbereich. Für den eigentlichen Umbruch kommen jedoch meistens geeignetere Tools, wie InDesign oder TeX, zum Einsatz. Die Konvertierung in deren Formate stellt prinzipiell keine große Herausforderung dar, ist jedoch häufig mit Nachbearbeitungs- oder Kontrollaufwand, also mit Kosten, verbunden. Dies ist insbesondere dann der Fall, wenn der Autor nicht konsequent und konsistent Formatvorlagen verwendet.

Ein Word-Manuskript in Word zu finalisieren, kann eine kostengünstige Alternative zum Umbruch in TeX, InDesign oder anderen Satzsystemen sein, wenn einige Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind. So gibt es u. a. Probleme bei anspruchsvollen Layouts, bestimmten Abbildungstypen oder besonders umfangreichen Werken. Eine große Anzahl von Manuskripten eignet sich jedoch für einen Nur-Word-Workflow.

Einen solchen Workflow zu meistern, bedarf besonderer Erfahrung. le-tex hat Methoden und Werkzeuge entwickelt, um gerade mit umfangreichen oder technisch anspruchsvollen Word-Dokumenten effizient umgehen zu können. Diese Kompetenz hat le-tex in über hundert Projekten mit insgesamt mehreren 10.000 Seiten unter Beweis gestellt.

Im Detail werden folgende Leistungen erbracht:

  • Satz von Büchern, Zeitschriften und Proceedings; 
  • Beratung von Autoren und Verlagen; 
  • „Reparatur“ von Word-Dateien; 
  • Finalisierung von Word-Dokumenten (d. h. Umbruch, Bildimport und Verzeichniserstellung); 
  • Organisation und Zusammenfassung einzelner Dateien zu Gesamtdokumenten; 
  • Bearbeitung umfangreicher Dokumente (> 1000 Seiten); 
  • Generierung von komplexen Verzeichnissen (z. B. für Proceeding-Reihe mit Bänden à 5000 Seiten); 
  • Erstellung und Anpassung von Templates; 
  • Makroprogrammierung; 
  • Konvertierung von Word-Daten in PDF-Dokumente; 
  • Konvertierung von formel- und tabellenhaltigen Word-Dokumenten nach TeX und umgekehrt sowie 
  • Konvertierung von Word-Dokumenten allgemein nach XML und umgekehrt. 

Word als Autorenwerkzeug: Word to XML, XML to Word

Ungefähr 90% aller Autoren (je nach Fachrichtung) bestehen auf Word als Werkzeug, um ihre Manuskripte zu bearbeiten. le-tex erstellt Formatvorlagen und Konverter, um einerseits diesem Interesse der Autoren und andererseits dem Interesse der Verlage an standardisiertem, mehrfach verwendbaren Content in gefälligem Layout gerecht zu werden.

Word-Autorvorlagen können auf die gewünschten Absatz- und Zeichenformate eingeschränkt werden, so dass der Inhalt ohne manuelle Eingriffe nach XML oder anderen Formaten konvertiert werden kann.

Aber auch die Gegenrichtung ist interessant, insb. für die stetig wachsende Zahl von Verlagen, die ihre Bücher als Volltext-XML speichern. le-tex ist in der Lage, strukturierte XML-Inhalte, incl. Tabellen, Formeln, Indexeinträgen oder geschachtelten Aufzählungen, zuverlässig nach Word zu konvertieren. Dann können Autoren ihre gewohnte Word-Umgebung verwenden, um Folgeauflagen ihrer Werke zu bearbeiten. Auch ein Copy-Editing in Word ist dann möglich. Anschließend kann der Text, je nach Striktheit der Word-Formatvorlage bzw. Kooperation des Autors, wieder automatisch nach XML konvertiert werden und dann mit Hilfe anderer Tools, wie z. B. LaTeX, InDesign, XSL-FO-Prozessoren oder HTML-Konvertern, gerendert werden.

le-tex setzt bei der Konvertierung auf das Word-2007-Format Office Open XML (.docx), wobei seitens Microsoft die Kompatibilität mit älteren Word-Versionen gewährleistet wird. Das heißt, selbst wenn die eigentliche Konvertierung immer zwischen Word-XML und dem XML-Zielformat stattfindet, können Autoren mit herkömmlichen Word-Daten (z. B. Word 2003) der Vorauflage beliefert werden.

Technologisch hat le-tex die Konvertierung zwischen Word und anderen XML-Formaten im Wesentlichen in XSLT/XPath 2.0 implementiert. Der Ansatz ähnelt dem von roundtrip aus dem Projekt DocBook XSL, wobei sich der le-tex-Konverter auszeichnet durch:

  • eine umfangreichere Abdeckung der Auszeichnungsmerkmale (u. a. Tabellen, Listen), 
  • durch die Unterstützung anderer XML-Formate als DocBook (wobei DocBook eine herausgehobene Rolle als neutrales Zwischenformat zukommt) 
  • und schließlich durch Verwendung mächtiger XSLT/Xpath-2.0-Konstrukte, wodurch sich neben kompakterem, wartbarem Code überhaupt erst Lösungen für einige der roundtrip-Defizite ergaben.